Posted in Special Initiative Grant

2014-15 Special Initiatives Grant Recipients

2014-15 Special Initiatives Grant Recipients Posted on May 5, 2015


Congratulations Special Initiatives Grant Recipients

The American Academy for Jewish Research is pleased to announce the winners of its Special Initiatives Grant. AAJR provides grants for no more than $5,000 to faculty at North American universities to, 1) encourage projects of academic collaboration between Jewish studies programs and colleagues between two or more institutions, Or, 2) enable scholarly endeavors that would not otherwise receive funding.

Krista Dalton, Columbia University
Simcha Gross, Yale University
Nathan Schumer, Columbia University
Ancient Jew Review

Nathan Devir and Maeera Shreiber, University of Utah
Teaching Jewish Studies across the Curriculum in Utah

Erik Dreff and Sarah Zager, University of Chicago
The Midwestern Inter-University Workshop in Jewish Studies (2015-16: Messianism)

Rebecca Kobrin, Columbia University
Voices of the New Russian-Jewish Diaspora

Jessica Marglin, University of Southern
California West Coast Working Group on Jews in the Islamic World

Sarah Pessin, University of Denver
Elias Sacks, University of Colorado, Boulder University of Colorado & University of Denver
Jewish Philosophy Collaborative

Riv-Ellen Prell, Center for Jewish History; American Jewish Historical Society; American Jewish Archive; Center for Jewish History
Graduate Student Workshop in Modern Jewish History

Shulamit Shinnar, Columbia University
Ancient Judaism Regional Seminar

YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
Yiddish Studies Research Seminar Series, 2015-2016