Posted in Cross-Institutional Cooperative Grants Special Initiatives Grant

2017-18 Special Initiatives Grant Recipients

2017-18 Special Initiatives Grant Recipients Posted on May 5, 2018


Congratulations Special Initiatives Grant Recipients

The American Academy for Jewish Research is pleased to announce the winners of its Special Initiatives Grant (now known as Cross-Institutional Cooperative Grants). AAJR provides grants for no more than $5,000 to faculty at North American universities to, 1) encourage projects of academic collaboration between Jewish studies programs and colleagues between two or more institutions, Or, 2) enable scholarly endeavors that would not otherwise receive funding.

Arie M. Dubnov, The George Washington University, in partnership with American University and the Jewish Historical Society of Greater Washington
The Greater D.C. Area Jewish History Colloquium

Ayala Fader and Orit Avishai, Fordham University
New York Working Group on Jewish Orthodoxies

Mark A. Goldberg, University of Houston
Funding for the Texas Jewish Studies Research Triangle

Amy Weiss, College of Saint Elizabeth; Joshua Kavaloski, Drew University
New Jersey Working Group on Holocaust Research

Ethan Katz, University of California, Berkeley (as of July 1); Rabbi Elisha Ancselovits, Pardes Institute of Jewish Studies & Emory University; Sergey Dolgopolski, University at Buffalo (SUNY)
Devotion and Relativity, Text and Context: New Frontiers of Jewish Literacy

Jessica Marglin, University of Southern California California
Working Group on Jews in the Maghrib and the Middle East

David Myers, Center for Jewish History Scholars
Working Group Program

Naomi Brenner, Ohio State University; Matthew Handelman, Michigan State University; Shachar Pinsker, University of Michigan
“Below the Line”? The Feuilleton and Modern Jewish Cultures

Ira Robinson, Concordia University
Furthering Cooperation in Jewish Studies Among Faculty and Students in Universities in Montreal and Surrounding Areas

Francesca Bregoli, CUNY-Queens College and the Graduate Center; Elisheva Carlebach, Columbia University; Flora Cassen, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; Debra Glasberg Gail, University of Pennsylvania; Joshua Teplitsky, SUNY-Stony Brook; Magda Teter, Fordham University; Ruth von Berth, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
The Early Modern Workshop “Sense and Perception”